Tiger Sushi

Understanding Japanese Sushi

Mention sushi to most people and their first thought will be of raw fish and rice. However, there is more to this delicious Japanese cuisine, and this blog seeks to help readers understand it. Undoubtedly, there is much to learn about the different types of sushi, such as nigiri, maki, temaki, uramaki, and sashimi, and the best way to eat them. Discover interesting recipes and where to source the ingredients, which typically includes fresh fish such as tuna, mackerel, and shrimp. The accompaniments are just as necessary, and a dipping sauce is an essential element of a sushi meal.

History of Sushi

6 May 2021

Sushi originated in Japan in the eighth century. The word "sushi" came from an old Japanese adjective that means "sour-tasting." Back then, preparing sushi was straightforward; store gutted fish in fermented rice. And back then, rice wasn't supposed to be eaten because it was only meant to prevent the gutted fish from spoiling.

Sushi, Sashimi, and Maki: What's the Difference?

31 Mar 2021

For anyone who simply wants to eat, sushi, sashimi, and maki are all the same; they're fish, and they're edible! However, they're not all the same. Sushi is different from sashimi and maki because it's a typical Japanese delicacy. Sashimi and maki, meanwhile, are distinct types of sushi.